Internship Chronicles: The Beginning

Everyone wants to work in a place in which they love what they do. Who wants to spend their entire life putting effort into a job that is unfulfilling? Most people live their lives thinking about their dreams, but never take the steps to make them happen. I have always dreamt of living near the sea and working at a place where I can scuba dive all the time, and I recently made that dream come true.

Unknown

It has been a month and a half since I Costa-Rica-turismo-ambiente-paisajearrived in Playas del Coco, Costa Rica, but I remember the beginning of my journey as if it was yesterday.

About two months ago, I was enjoying a few drinks and chatting with a friend on a cozy terrace in Barcelona.  We were discussing our options for completing the international internship requirement for our degree in Tourism and Hospitality Management. Between sips of my cold, frothy draft beer, I came up with the idea of integrating both my passion for diving and the sea with my university internship requirement. 

At that point I knew what I wanted, and all I had to do was make it happen.

rich-coast-diving

The first order of business in putting my newly-hatched plan into action was to decide in which country I would conduct my diving internship. After some research, I came to a decision: Costa Rica would be my home for the coming months. I was looking for a beautiful, exciting, environmentally friendly country and this one fit the bill. Costa Rica has one of the highest levels of biodiversity in the entire world, and the marine life includes whale sharks, bull sharks, manta rays, sea turtles, sea horses (the list goes on) and is absolutely breathtaking. It is for these reasons that my decision was made so easily.

Next on the agenda was to decide where in Costa Rica I would conduct my internship. After thorough research, I decided on Rich Coast Diving, the only 5-Star CDC center in all of Costa Rica. The shop owners, Martin and Brenda, are both experienced instructors and course directors, and they put customer satisfaction first at all times. After emailing with Brenda, we agreed upon a social media internship. This was the ideal situation because I would have the opportunity of becoming a PADI professional while at the same time completing my international internship requirement for university.

Keep an eye out for my next post, in which I will describe my experiences since being here!

Leave a Reply

